How to Own a Revolutionary Craft Biz
The Rev Craft Biz Podcast
Taking the Leap to full-time entrepreneurship - with Tara Miller
2
0:00
-1:11:27

Taking the Leap to full-time entrepreneurship - with Tara Miller

And exposing quilt history along the way
2

#10: In this episode I’m talking with Tara Miller about choosing to make a business out of her quilting passion, and then taking the leap from part time to full time entrepreneur. We discuss the importance of knowing your quilt history, and geek out about Barbara Brackman’s game changing book, Encyclopedia of Pieced Quilt Patterns

Show Notes:

Website - https://quiltdistrict.com

Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/quiltdistrict/

YouTube – https://www.youtube.com/c/TheQuiltDistrict

Discount Codes:  

American Quilt Studies Group is

americanquiltstudygroup.org

CRAFTBIZ15

Quiltfolk is

www.quiltfolk.com

TaraQF30

University of Nebraska Quilt Studies Certificate - https://graduate.unl.edu/academics/programs/QLTS-GCER

Know-it-Alls - https://quiltdistrict.com/the-six-know-it-alls/

Barbara Brakman - https://barbarabrackman.blogspot.com/

*Encyclopedia of Pieced Quilt Patterns 3rd Edition - https://amzn.to/45B28Vn

American Quilt Study Group - https://americanquiltstudygroup.org/

Merikay Waldvogel - https://quiltershalloffame.net/merikay-waldvogel/

Tara Miller’s lectures - https://quiltdistrict.com/talks-workshops/

Pique Trouver - https://www.piquetrouver.com

Sam’s Hidden Irish Chain pattern - https://huntersdesignstudio.com/product/hidden-irish-chain/

Nestilings by Robin - Robin Koehler - https://www.nestlingsbyrobin.com

Mary Fons - https://www.maryfons.com/

Rod Kirakov - https://www.theamericanquilt.com/

Sara Hibbert - https://www.sarahhibbertquilts.com/

Jennifer Candon - https://www.jennifercandon.com/

Boom Chicka Pop - https://www.boomchickapop.com/

Cheers - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cheers

When Harry Met Sally - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/When_Harry_Met_Sally…

*Big Magic - https://amzn.to/3zp3rKS

Featured Quilter in Quilt Folk - https://www.quiltfolk.com/issue-30-georgia/

Lecturing in Europe - European Patchwork Meeting - https://www.patchwork-europe.eu/en/

Quiltmania - April issue - DAR exhibition article - (unable to link, QuiltMania closed down)

AIDS quilt project - https://www.aidsmemorial.org/quilt

*Affiliate link - I might make a commission but you don’t pay more

How to Own a Revolutionary Craft Biz is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Where to find Sam Hunter:

How to Own a Revolutionary Craft Biz - www.revcraftbiz.com

Hunter's Design Studio - www.huntersdesignstudio.com

Embroidered Journey - www.embroideredjourney.com

Creatively Sorted - www.creativelysorted.com

Thank you for reading and listening to How to Own a Revolutionary Craft Biz. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

2 Comments
How to Own a Revolutionary Craft Biz
The Rev Craft Biz Podcast
Craft biz owner Sam Hunter talks to her colleagues in the quilting and craft industry about it what it takes to run their businesses in today’s world; essentially creative people talking about creative solutions for running creative businesses!
They cover topics related to entrepreneurship, juggling all the things, maintaining sanity, avoiding burnout, prioritizing their creative practices, and ways to change the industry for the better for all who work in it.